Clarkstown Central School District Announces Scholarship Winners

Students awarded national merit, nursing and social studies awards

Five Clarkstown high school seniors received 2011 National Merit Scholarships. The Clarkstown South students are: Boyu Fan, Allen Lipson, Srikalyan Megati and Joanne Rosenthal. The Clarkstown North High School recipient Anthony Conte is also the school's salutatorian.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships. High school students enter the program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test and by meeting entry and participation requirements.

Two students at Clarkstown North received Patricia Brennan Nursing Scholarship Awards. Jaisy Raju and Tonia Kizhakepuram are the 2011 recipients of Patricia Brennan Nursing Scholarships. The scholarship fund was established in 2003 by the Clarkstown School District nurses as a tribute to memorialize Brennan's contributions to the nursing department and her dedication to school nursing. Brennan was the nurse in the annex of North High School for many years until she passed away in June 2003.

Olga Zubashko, a senior at Clarkstown South, was awarded a scholarship by the Westchester-Lower Hudson Council for The Social Studies. Zubashko was honored for exhibiting a high degree of scholarship in social studies and her involvement in social studies' co-curricular activities plus school and community service. Zubashko is a member of School Superintendent Margaret Keller-Cogan's Student Advisory Council.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »