Clarkstown High School Students Qualify For National Merit Scholarship Competition

More than 20 named as semifinalists and commended students


The Clarkstown School District announced that 23 students have qualified as seminfinalists and commended students in the National Merit Scholarship Program.  The National Merit Scholarship Program released the names of 50,000 students who are commended students and semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship competition and the list includes 23 Clarkstown high schools students. More than one million students took the PSAT National Merit Qualifying Test in October 2011.  

There are 16,000 students recognized as National Merit Semifinalists, who will continue in the Merit Scholarship competition. 

Clarkstown North High School’s semifinalists are Dylan Johnke, 
Joan Y. Lee
 and Keith B. Selover.

The 34,000 students designated as Commended Students for exceptional academic promise were among the top five percent of high achieving students nationally. 

The 11 Clarkstown South High School Commended Students were: 

  • Lindsay Evans
  • Alex T. Koppara
  • Lillian Lu
  • Alexandra L. Marks
  • Joseph A. Mileo
  • Rohan Sharma
  • Haoran Shi
  • Bradley R. Studnitzer
  • Jacqueline Yi
  • Thomas A. Beauchemin
  • Emily Bowman

The nine Clarkstown North High School Commended Students were:

  • Michael W. Dolan
  • Thomas W. Farro
  • Junghoon C. Haam
  • Justin G. Hong
  • Gabi V. Im
  • Benjamin Lai
  • Steven Tenzer
  • Katherine L. Yao
  • Gregory A. Briker


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something