Scholarship Winners Set Their Sights On Law Enforcement Careers

Six graduating seniors receive O'Grady-Brown scholarships in memory of slain Nyack police officers.

Six graduating high school seniors were awarded $1,000 scholarships to assist with their college education this weekend at the 21st annual O’Grady-Brown Memorial Scholarship Fund awards at the Nyack Seaport.

Each recipient expressed a desire to graduate from college and pursue a career in law enforcement. Rockland County Sheriff James F. Kralik told the 60 people gathered for the event about the 1981 Brinks robbery in Nanuet and the subsequent gun battle with domestic terrorists in Nyack, which led to the killing of Nyack Police Sgt. Edward O’Grady and Police Officer Waverly Brown.

Brink's guard Peter Paige was killed in the armored car robbery at the Nanuet Mall.

Kralik, who is retiring this year as sheriff, emphasized the profound impact that this incident had on law enforcement and the community and the need for young people to serve their communities as law enforcement officers to help build on the legacy of Sergeant O’Grady and Officer Brown.

The scholarship winners are:
- Christopher Archibal, Nyack High School.
- Nicholas Kydon, Nyack High School.
- Derick Macaulay, North Rockland High School in Thiells.
- Matthew Barry, Clarkstown South High School in West Nyack.
- Steven Rohrig of Clarkstown South High School.
- Laura Brennan of Clarkstown North High School in New City.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »